Spotlights on low beam??

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fzrr

Reaction score
Hi all

Bear with me as I'm new to 4wds and the D22 is my first one. I just finished wiring up some spotties using the Nissan wiring loom and they only work on high beam. Is this the way its meant to be?

After getting caught in some forests after dark with the standard headlights I was hoping to be able to use the spotties in conjunction with low beam so you don't lose the close up lighting?

cheers

If you wish to use spotties on low beam you will need to hard wire an extra switch into the existing relay used for the spotties so you can turn them on and off at any time.
Also if you leave the current wiring in as well you can use the high beam setup on the highway so you can shut down the spotties with the high beam stalk.

Yep, they're supposed to be only available on high beam so when you're on the blacktop they can be turned on and off by the dipper switch. I've been thinking about the same for a while now and reckon that some "work lights" like the LED flood lamps might be the go, mounted low like a pair of fog lamps somehow. Still thinking though!!

Cheers Brad

Oh so its a legal thing that they only work on high beam?

It certainly is. As others said, a second switch to power the relay would be able to be installed to allow them to switch on under low's, however it would be illegal to use them as such. I think it comes down to common sense though, only use them when on low beam in the situations where needed and im sure all would be fine, only problem would ever be if the cops pulled you over and knew what was going on with them, which even then you could probably explain your way out of it if you weren't already pissing them off.

Mitch