Go Back   The Navara Forum > D22 > D22 Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

ZD30 intermittent power loss 0702 fault
  #1  
Old 07-09-2014, 05:10 AM
camoo camoo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: sydney
Posts: 18
Default ZD30 intermittent power loss 0702 fault

Hey all,
I'm having an issue with my d22 3ltr where it is having intermittent power loss while driving, like the turbo has suddenly stopped.

ECU it throwing a 0702 fault code, top dead centre pulse signal (incorrect signal from the Injection Pump Control Unit)

Any ideas??
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 07-09-2014, 11:06 AM
Resto's Avatar
Resto Resto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Launceston
Posts: 104
Garage
Default

Sound like the throttle position switch on the gearbox, have you cleared that code(could be an old one) and see if it does it again?
There is thread on here on how to CHECK the Tps with the heat switch, might pay to do a search for it.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-09-2014, 11:17 AM
camoo camoo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: sydney
Posts: 18
Default

I thought it was the neutral switch on the gearbox? I tested it with the heat switch, and disconnected it as it was playing up in 3rd and 4th, but even with it disconnected its still occurring. Seems to be ok if the car has been sitting for a bitter bit.
Soon as it gets to operating temp though the fault occurs.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-09-2014, 11:57 AM
tweak'e's Avatar
tweak'e tweak'e is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,540
Garage
Default

sounds like pump is failing.
probably the ecu on the pump or the pickup. either way its $$$$$$
__________________
D22 ZD30 egr+butterfly mod, 2" lift extra leaf springs, enk-tek dump pipe, 2.5" exhaust.
D23 no mods.......yet.
single cab workhorse, to muddy to clean
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-09-2014, 12:21 PM
Resto's Avatar
Resto Resto is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Launceston
Posts: 104
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camoo View Post
I thought it was the neutral switch on the gearbox? I tested it with the heat switch, and disconnected it as it was playing up in 3rd and 4th, but even with it disconnected its still occurring. Seems to be ok if the car has been sitting for a bitter bit.
Soon as it gets to operating temp though the fault occurs.
Sorry yes thats what i meant!!! has nothing to do with tps, was reading another thread and obvoiusly got stuck in my head, and i had a few bourbons.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-09-2014, 01:09 PM
camoo camoo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: sydney
Posts: 18
Default

I'll try following the trouble shooting in the workshop manual, but if the pump needs replacing, how much am I lookin at for a new one?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-09-2014, 01:29 PM
bods's Avatar
bods bods is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orelia, WA
Posts: 4,906
Default

Between 3 and 4k usually... You might be able to get an exchange one for cheaper though...
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-09-2014, 01:32 PM
nuckin futs's Avatar
nuckin futs nuckin futs is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: ipswich
Posts: 845
Garage
Default

got a spare kidney lol
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-09-2014, 01:39 PM
camoo camoo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: sydney
Posts: 18
Default

Hmm may need to sacrifice my first born.
Thought being a 10 year old car they would be cheaper...
Well that's worst case scenario anyway. May be something simple.... hopefully...
They fault description suggests more of a sensor failure, not mechanical.
And the was the power fault occurs is like someone flicking a switch and then no power.
Turn of the car and the ECU resets after a bit and the power is back.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-09-2014, 02:24 PM
Rumpig's Avatar
Rumpig Rumpig is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 1,538
Garage
Default

Crank position sensor is used as the" Top Dead Centre" reference point and is know to fail. Thats what code 0702 refers to. TDC pulse signal.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	crank sensor TDC.JPG
Views:	325
Size:	185.5 KB
ID:	16745  
__________________
"A little information is a dangerous thing"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |