Go Back   The Navara Forum > D22 > D22 Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

The D.I.Y. ZD30 remap thread.
  #1  
Old 23-12-2014, 06:38 AM
Rumpig's Avatar
Rumpig Rumpig is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 1,536
Garage
Default The D.I.Y. ZD30 remap thread.

I want to start this post by saying i'm not a mechanic, and I've never done any tuning before. I've been working on this on and off for 12 months and probably only know 10% of what there is to know about ECU's and tuning them. Everyone complains about the ZD30s doughy response and searching the net there's nearly zero info on remapping our engine so I figured "it may as well be me".

I'm hoping this thread doesn't take over my life, and figure the more people working on it the better the end result will be. This isn't something you can learn in a couple of weeks, or even months but i'm sure there will be enough people interested that we can get some good results on making the ZD30 more responsive.
__________________
"A little information is a dangerous thing"

Last edited by Rumpig; 30-05-2016 at 03:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 23-12-2014, 07:12 AM
Shorty4655's Avatar
Shorty4655 Shorty4655 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hervey Bay
Posts: 871
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Ill be watching keenly, Rumpig you are a champion.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 23-12-2014, 11:35 AM
wes570's Avatar
wes570 wes570 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: melbourn
Posts: 502
My Mood:
Default

its sounds interesting.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 23-12-2014, 12:59 PM
charlie strayarc's Avatar
charlie strayarc charlie strayarc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Laverton
Posts: 398
My Mood:
Default

Youve got my attention,,,, unless of course its part of your irishman signature
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 24-12-2014, 05:18 AM
Rumpig's Avatar
Rumpig Rumpig is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 1,536
Garage
Default

What you need Hardware wise.
An ecu with the chips removed and sockets installed. I wouldn't use your original ecu, i'd keep that for back up, as once you socket an ecu there's a greater chance of it failing leave you up shit creek till you get a replacement.

Navaras don't have immobilisers so you can get an ecu from any 2000-2006 zd30. I was getting them for as little as $55 plus postage but generally there about $150. Chips and sockets I've been getting from here http://www.chip-service.de/product_i...010B-70JF.html
I have 30 chips and sockets if anyone wants a set.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0023.jpg
Views:	778
Size:	70.7 KB
ID:	19082   Click image for larger version

Name:	PLCC32 chips and sockets.jpg
Views:	781
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	19084  
__________________
"A little information is a dangerous thing"
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 24-12-2014, 05:29 AM
Rumpig's Avatar
Rumpig Rumpig is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 1,536
Garage
Default

To read and write chips you need a burner, the one i'm using is made by MCUMALL and is the GQ-4X http://www.mcumall.com/comersus/stor...namicIndex.asp This will read the bin files off the original chips which are "One Time Write". The chips that replace the originals can be erased and written many times over, which means you only need one pair. There's two chips written in 8 bit, one odd the other even which are combined by the microprocessor in the ecu into a 16 bit file.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	MCUMALL chip burner.jpg
Views:	545
Size:	21.4 KB
ID:	19085   Click image for larger version

Name:	Chip remover pliers..jpg
Views:	441
Size:	98.5 KB
ID:	19086  
__________________
"A little information is a dangerous thing"

Last edited by Rumpig; 24-12-2014 at 05:59 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 24-12-2014, 05:44 AM
Rumpig's Avatar
Rumpig Rumpig is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 1,536
Garage
Default

With regards to socketing the ecu I spent some time googling "soldering smd" and watching videos and thought "doesn't look to hard". I bought a soldering station with a hot air gun, some sockets and ecu's from ebay and had a crack and totally butchered the first two, thought right I've got it now, and tried a third which worked for the first 200 mtrs then died.
Believe me it isn't as easy as it looks, so some more googling and I found two companies that work on ecu's. I talked to a tech at a place in Melbourne and he said they don't do anything like socketing so I rang Kevin at Efi autoparts in Perth and he said he could do it. http://www.efiautoparts.com.au/page1.php He's done two Navara ones for me and a Patrol one which I haven't tried yet ( any Patrol owners wanna be a guinea pig?) He charges $176 to remove the chips and solder in sockets which is cheaper than doing what I did butchering 3 ecu's. This fella in Adelaide can socket ecu's as well for $100. http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/port-...ces/1040186793
__________________
"A little information is a dangerous thing"

Last edited by Rumpig; 29-09-2015 at 06:09 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 25-12-2014, 09:56 PM
andrew0 andrew0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 194
Default

http://ioterminal.com/?page_id=577

I believe that this will do the yd25. But it's 800 bucks form the uk and I'll be spewing if it won't do anything.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 26-12-2014, 01:39 AM
Rumpig's Avatar
Rumpig Rumpig is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 1,536
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew0 View Post
http://ioterminal.com/?page_id=577

I believe that this will do the yd25. But it's 800 bucks form the uk and I'll be spewing if it won't do anything.
Twice posted a yd25 bin file on ecuconnections and I had a bit of a look at it in winols, it's far harder to find maps in that file than it is in the ZD30. You might want to look at his bin before buying the tool!
__________________
"A little information is a dangerous thing"
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 26-12-2014, 11:35 AM
Rumpig's Avatar
Rumpig Rumpig is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Darwin
Posts: 1,536
Garage
Default

I've made a short vid on how to find the maps using winols demo. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frPK...ature=youtu.be
__________________
"A little information is a dangerous thing"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |