YD25DDTi Big End Bearings

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andyrobertson

Reaction score
Guys,

My D22 only has 43,000 miles on the clock and I have absolutely no running issues at all, but I thought i would have my big end bearing changed as preventative maintenance just incase.

The good news is it looks like I caught it in time, so my advice to all running a YD25DDTi engine would be seriously consider changing them before its to late.

The pictures say it all.......

Attachments

• d133-120610-001.jpg
    d133-120610-001.jpg
    227.1 KB · Views: 252
  • d133-120610-002.jpg
    d133-120610-002.jpg
    216.9 KB · Views: 294
I'm no mechanic but what's the issue with the big end bearings. My d22 only has 50000 on it AMD no issues with it. I know the other d22 in Europe etc have a issue with the motor that cause them to lock up.

Rusty

Guys,

My D22 only has 43,000 miles on the clock and I have absolutely no running issues at all, but I thought i would have my big end bearing changed as preventative maintenance just incase.

The good news is it looks like I caught it in time, so my advice to all running a YD25DDTi engine would be seriously consider changing them before its to late.

Australia never got that version of the YD25 and NewZealand only got it in the 2WD.

Guys,

So whats wrong with those shells??????

They still show the original babbit top overlay coating..

Look at the second pic kramkin, the lead tin overlay has completely worn away an the shell itself looks to be cavitated, time for glasses mate :wristy:

Look at the second pic kramkin, the lead tin overlay has completely worn away an the shell itself looks to be cavitated, time for glasses mate :wristy:

The pics dont enlarge too much on this phone ya wank...so i was putting the question out there..so you reckon its worn down past the copper layer to the steel backing...