Adventures in Timing Chain.

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aaron31

Reaction score
9 times out of 10 when I start the D40, there is 4-5 seconds of distinctly unpleasant chain type noises emanating from the donk. I needed to know what was going on with a view to change it all out - so, I got to it. I used the guide written by Richard Stock, with the help of Darren Ball et al (awesome guide chaps - read it about 8 times) plus general information on the web plus the service manual. Note I am by no means a mechanic. I work in IT. This is by far the most 'complex' thing (overall) I have done on an engine. But broken down, step by step, (thanks to the guide) its relatively straight forward. How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.

You have read the comments/war stories about the crank bolt being tight and make absolutely no mistake - IT IS. I had a breaker bar + a section of the daughters netball ring/goal pole hanging off it - 2M easily. To hold in place, I had a crowbar wedged into the crank pulley, held in place by a ratchet strap lashing it to the chassis rail. To protect against something breaking, I packed that area in front of the engine full of rags. Do NOT underestimate the amount of force you are putting on these things. 1 socket later (do NOT use standard sockets - go and get an impact socket), a lot of cringing and grunting, a BENT crowbar and a whole lot of wondering if it was going to come off at all, it finally came loose. The bolt face and the pulley is galled, I can only assume because it was so dang tight. I am not looking forward to doing it up!

Yes its fiddly. Very fiddly. Pace yourself through it. Have someone with/as an extra pair of hands as well. There is nothing overly complex to it - use the information in the guide, on the web, plan and eyeball each step.