Go Back   The Navara Forum > D40 > D40 Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

D40 Odometer problem
  #1  
Old 17-09-2019, 11:37 AM
st-x08 st-x08 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14
Default D40 Odometer problem

Hi Everyone
I am just finished a major rebuild of a Navara just purchased and during the test driving I have found that the Odometer is going up at 4 times the speed.
just driving from the back yard to the front shows 200m instead of 50m and once around the block should show 500m comes up with 2km however the speedo is correct.
Has anyone come across this before?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 17-09-2019, 01:02 PM
Old.Tony's Avatar
Old.Tony Old.Tony is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mid Coast Region, NSW, Australia
Posts: 15,200
My Mood:
Garage
Default

The odometer and the speedometer get their data from the ABS sensors. Some people, though, in an attempt to adjust the speedometer needle, get a Jaycar speedo correction box and install it, hoping to make the speedo more accurate. This unit may be backfeeding data into the instrument cluster causing this. These are usually attached to the gearbox but someone may have wired this one in under the dash. Your speedo should (because all Navaras on standard tyres seem to be this way) be about 10% fast, so at 110km indicated you're actually doing just 100km/h.



It could also be the earth for the stereo (which is shared with the instrument cluster) is nto satisfactory. Run a test lead between the stereo and a large mount bolt under the dash and see if that resolves the problem.
__________________

Check out the FAQs by clicking here!



"Money can't buy happiness, but it does make misery a lot easier to deal with."
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 17-09-2019, 01:12 PM
st-x08 st-x08 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Canberra
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for that I will have a search.
There no faults coming up on the scan tool so don't think its ABS related.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 21-09-2019, 12:34 PM
Old.Tony's Avatar
Old.Tony Old.Tony is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mid Coast Region, NSW, Australia
Posts: 15,200
My Mood:
Garage
Default

I would doubt that too, what I was saying is that because the sensor data for speed & distance come from the ABS system, using the Jaycar box is not going to work unless you bodge something in the instrument cluster.


The D40 is sensitive to the ABS system and will happily throw the light on if it gets a whiff of a problem with that - so no, I don't suspect the ABS system at all.
__________________

Check out the FAQs by clicking here!



"Money can't buy happiness, but it does make misery a lot easier to deal with."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |