possible crank angle sensor?

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rodroxnissan

Reaction score
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi guys...I am a newbie to this forum,I have a 2006 nissan navara 3.0 ltr diesel, I have never had one issue with it i love it...but just recently i went to start it and the tachometer goes spasmatic up to around 4000 rpm and wont start unless i pump the eccelerator pedal. once it has started it runs beautiful smooth and idles great but the engine light stays on. I took it to nissan dealer and they say that the code for crank sensor showed up, then he said it is possible that once they replace the sensor dont be suprised if another code shows up TYPICAL nissan im sick and tired of rip off dealers looking for extra work at my expense. After reading a few forums i have found other nissan owners have had the same issues.I have replaced the fuel filter and checked for water in there but is no water. Can anybody shed some light on this for me? thanks in advance :)

Unfortunately Nissan dealers follow a formula when diagnosing problems in vehicles. For 95% of problems this works well, finds the fault quickly and gets you back on the road. It's the 5% of problems that give us the irits. What's worse is that the 95% of problems solved quickly are hardly ever mentioned on forums, but the 5% seem to be raised quite frequently - so forums will give you a rather skewed view of the larger picture.

The crank angle sensor tells the ECU what position the engine is in, so that the ECU knows when to open the injectors. If your engine runs ok once it's going, it's doesn't seem like the CAS would be out of alignment.