d40 starting issues

Nissan Navara Forum

Help Support Nissan Navara Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

09d40

Reaction score
Hi all,

this is my first time posting on this forum but not the first time ive used it as a reference my 09 navara d40 isnt starting it just clicks was working fine i dropped my son off from school no dramas went to go back to work and it wouldnt start both batterys are fully charged has a new starter motor (which did nothing to fix the problem) and im just at a loss when i turn the key the needles on the dial vibrate up n down and it just clicks any help would be greatly appreciated

ive tightened the terminals as much as possible ive poured boiling water over the terminals they dont look to bad how wouldi go about checking to see if its a faulty earth would i just run a jumper lead from the starter to the body?

See if you can jump start it from another battery, also pull the terminals off and clean with a Bicarb and vinegar paste use an old toothbrush. Also check and clean the - from the battery to the body.

Also check the terminals on the starter. mine were loose once and make it click... and check the other end of the lead where it goes under the fused battery terminal. The earth goes to the body under the battery first then to the block. check them also.

The first thing I'd check is the large heavy cable that runs from the battery negative to the side of the engine. Undo both ends, clean and reinstall.

Second, the heavy red cable from the battery to the starter motor. Again, both ends. You're cleaning it - the cables are too heavy and made from multistrand wire so there won't be any problem with breaks in there.