Go Back   The Navara Forum > D22 > D22 Body & Chassis

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Bullbar chassis captive nuts
  #1  
Old 09-04-2015, 06:20 AM
Shorty4655's Avatar
Shorty4655 Shorty4655 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hervey Bay
Posts: 916
My Mood:
Garage
Question Bullbar chassis captive nuts

Hey guys,

I took my bullbar off today and yesterday to give the front chassis rails some rust treatment and fresh paint.

When re-installing two of the 4 captive chassis nuts (2 per side, square nuts welded to the inside of the chassis) are now not torquing up, I can remove the bolt and the bolt is fine I must have stripped the nut in the chassis..... Is there anyway to fix this?

There is one nut stripped either side, so one on each side is still good, the stripped nuts still have the bolts in but they arent what I would call done up tight, but they are as tight as I can get them.

Has anyone else had this problem? I didnt even really torque them than tightly and they let go quite easily, the bolts are grade 8.8 hardware so maybe the chassis captive nuts arent that higher tensile, however being in the chassis on a standard vehicle you think they would be as they are a pain to replace (if replacing them is even at all possible?!)

Any help would be wonderful, I have an stock alloy bar.

Cheers,
Short
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

  #2  
Old 09-04-2015, 06:26 AM
ben85's Avatar
ben85 ben85 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,248
Default

i stripped one a while back.

i think they're m10 fine thread.

i re-tapped the nut with an m12x1.25 thread and used a bigger bolt.
__________________
2002 D22 Navara ZD30 Lifted and Locked on 33's.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-04-2015, 06:34 AM
Shorty4655's Avatar
Shorty4655 Shorty4655 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hervey Bay
Posts: 916
My Mood:
Garage
Default

Cool so I just have to buy a tap, think I only have an M8 Tap, did you do all of them? or just the ones you buggered up? So I take it these welded nuts arent the most high tensile nut going round
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-04-2015, 12:20 PM
04HUG 04HUG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mt Isa
Posts: 127
My Mood:
Default

G'day
It should be an easy fix if you get a "Heli-Coil" kit from a Bolt/Fastener Shop.
__________________
GRUMPY OLD 845T4RD (in training)
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-04-2015, 12:26 PM
atcmatt's Avatar
atcmatt atcmatt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 183
Default

Definitely Helicoil it. Stainless threads, mint.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-05-2015, 12:21 PM
Shorty4655's Avatar
Shorty4655 Shorty4655 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hervey Bay
Posts: 916
My Mood:
Garage
Default

The nuts that no longer tighten have already been heli coiled as when I pulled the bolt out after it wouldn't torque up the heli coil came out with the bolt. Would re doing the heli coil work? As obviously the last heli coil didn't work overly well
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-05-2015, 12:52 PM
atcmatt's Avatar
atcmatt atcmatt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 183
Default

I have never had a problem. As Long as you drill straight, and use the right size bit and tap, there is no reason it should pull out. Obviously has not been done properly, however most of my experience with them is into aluminium and not steel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alloy, bullbar, captive, chassis, nut

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:05 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
| Home | Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Today's Posts | Search | New Posts |